ViewPoint France

GreenSludge

Water quality biomonitoring

Method for rapid assessment of the ecotoxicity
of sewage sludge on earthworms





Sewage sludge is the by-product collected during the various stages of wastewater treatment.
The quantity of sludge is measured by its dryness, i.e. by the proportion of dry matter it contains.
More than one million tons of dry matter are produced each year by wastewater treatment plants in France.

Source : IDEA du Coeur du Hainaut



This sludge can be recovered or disposed of.

The most commonly used recycling methods are agricultural spreading or composting. Between 2009 and 2011, 70-75% of the sludge from wastewater treatment plants was applied largely to agricultural land.


While sewage sludge is rich in nutrients and organic matter useful for amending agricultural soils, it can also contain more harmful components, depending on their concentration: TMEs (trace metals), organic micropollutants, pathogenic micro-organisms or medicinal substances.

Legally, the spreading of sewage sludge is governed by - in France - the modified Order of January 8, 1998 setting the technical requirements applicable to the spreading of sludge on agricultural land taken in application of the decree n° 97-1133 of December 8, 1997 relating to the spreading of sludge from wastewater treatment.

Consulter l’Arrêté

In order to preserve a good quality of soils, the French regulation foresees soon the the implementation of new measures. . These are additional controls on sewage sludge, prior to its recovery by composting or agricultural spreading in particular.

Among the possible tests is the evaluation of the ecotoxicity of sludge on earthworm reproduction. However, these tests require long lead times, in the order of a month, while water managers have storage capacity limited to a few days

In addition, some communities have embarked on a policy of increasing sludge recovery, making for a delicate context.

échantillonnage boue
ver de terre

Our solution: GreenSludge

ViewPoint has developed a fast assessment method for earthworms.
From its automated behavioral analysis, GreenSludge provides the ecotoxicity score of the sample within 24 to 48 hours after receipt at the laboratory.

Contact us should you have any more questions 

CONTACT

ViewPoint France

GreenSludge

Biosurveillance de la qualité de l'eau

Méthode d’évaluation rapide d’écotoxicité
des boues d’épuration sur les vers de terre





Les boues d’épuration sont les sous-produits recueillis au cours des différentes étapes de la dépollution des eaux usées.
On mesure la quantité de boues par leur siccité, c’est à dire par la part des matières sèches qu’elles contiennent.
Plus d’un million de tonnes de matières sèches sont ainsi produites chaque année par les stations d’épuration en France.

Source : IDEA du Coeur du Hainaut



Ces boues peuvent être valorisées ou éliminées.

Les méthodes de recyclage les plus utilisées sont l’épandage agricole ou le compostage. Entre 2009 et 2011, 70 à 75 % des boues issues de stations d’épuration ont été épandues en grande partie sur des sols agricoles.


Si les boues d’épuration sont riches en éléments nutritifs et en matière organique utiles à l’amendement des sols agricoles, elles peuvent aussi contenir des composants plus nocifs, en fonction de leur concentration : des ETM (éléments traces métalliques), des micropolluants organiques, des micro-organismes pathogènes ou des substances médicamenteuses.

Réglementairement, l’épandage des boues d’épuration est régit par l’Arrêté du 8 janvier 1998 modifié fixant les prescriptions techniques applicables aux épandages de boues sur les sols agricoles pris en application du décret n° 97-1133 du 8 décembre 1997 relatif à l’épandage des boues issues du traitement des eaux usées.

Consulter l’Arrêté

Afin de préserver une bonne qualité des sols, la réglementation française prévoit prochainement la mise en place de nouvelles mesures. Il s’agit de contrôles complémentaires sur les boues d’épuration, avant leur valorisation par compost ou épandage agricole notamment.

Parmi les tests possibles figure l’évaluation de l’écotoxicité des boues sur la reproduction des vers de terre. Cependant, ces tests demandent des délais de réalisation longs, de l’ordre du mois, alors que les gestionnaires de l’eau disposent de capacité de stockage limitées à quelques jours.

De plus, certaines collectivités ont engagé une politique d’augmentation de valorisation des boues, rendant le contexte délicat.

échantillonnage boue
ver de terre

La solution GreenSludge

ViewPoint a mis au point une méthode d’évaluation rapide sur les vers de terre.
A partir de leur analyse comportementale automatisée, GreenSludge fournit la note écotoxique de l’échantillon dans les 24 à 48H après réception au laboratoire.

Pour toute information complémentaire, contactez-nous 

CONTACT